Return to Headlines

Green Island residents vote to approve $8.1 million budget for the 2023-24 school year; two candidates elected to the Board of Education

May 16, 2023

On Tuesday, May 16, Green Island residents voted to approve a $8,143,712 proposed budget for the 2023-24 school year with 64 “yes” votes and 19 “no” votes, a 77% approval. The budget consists of a $568,299 spending increase compared to the current year’s budget due to inflation and rising costs. The 3.83% tax levy will support the budget, which is below the legal 4.01% tax cap and will only increase local share of approximately $65 per $100,000 home. 

The approved budget will sustain current educational programming and extracurricular activities for students, while expanding upon the district’s mission of optimizing the engagement of all school community members to help students meet their maximum potential. It encompasses the necessary resources for the district to develop robust programs and services that challenge students academically, strengthen relationships with families, and enrich the overall Heatly experience. 

“A heartfelt thank you to our extended Heatly community for your continued support with the 2023-2024 school budget,” said Superintendent Kimberly Ross. 

“Even though we were challenged in navigating reduced state aid appropriations, we prioritized preserving all programs and services for all our learners. This approved budget for the upcoming school year ensures our students will have the tools necessary to build upon their academic progress and prepare for the future.”

Bus Proposition

Residents also approved the lease of one 30-passenger school bus for a period of five years, by a vote of 64 (yes) to 18 (no). 

Board of Education Election

Green Island residents elected two individuals to the board of education. Candidates do not run for a specific seat on the board, as the two members with the highest number of votes are elected. Both candidates will serve a three-year term in office, which will commence on July 1, 2023. 

  • Nancy McNulty: 72 votes
    • Nancy McNulty (incumbent) was re-elected to serve a 3-year term.
  • Joseph Nolet: 70 votes
    • Joseph Nolet (incumbent) was re-elected to serve a 3-year term.